SAMBA Webinar Series

The SAMBA Webinar Series is a quarterly web-based lecture series on topics in ambulatory anesthesia with Q&A. The Webinar Series is produced in association with the SAMBA Resident Section.

Upcoming Webinars

Stay tuned!


Past Webinars 

Pheochromocytoma Management
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT/5:00 pm MT/4:00 pm PT
Presenter:Allison Dalton, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesia & Critical Care
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

SAMBA Members: to view a recording of the webinar, please follow this link: http://www.sambahq.org/p/cm/ld/fid=64

New Trends and Blocks in Regional Anesthesia for Ambulatory Surgery

Wednesday, March 16th
7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT
Presenter: John Laur, MD
Clinical Associate Professor
VAH Chief of Anesthesiology Services
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, WI 
Presenter: Colby Parks, MD
Assistant Professor, Regional Anesthesia 
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, WI 

SAMBA Members: to view a recording of the webinar, please follow this link: http://www.sambahq.org/p/cm/ld/fid=64

Multimodal Anesthesia in the Ambulatory Setting

January 20, 2016
7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT
Presenter: Alberto Ardon, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Florida College of Medicine
Jacksonville, FL

SAMBA Members: to view a recording of the webinar, please follow this link: http://www.sambahq.org/p/cm/ld/fid=64

Patient Selection For Ambulatory Surgery: Can anypatient be an outpatient? 

December 15, 2015 
7:00 pm ET/6:00 pm CT
Presenter: Girish Joshi, M.B., B.S., M.D., FFARCSI
Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Director of Perioperative Medicine and Ambulatory Anesthesia
Parkland Health and Hospital Systems 
Dallas, TX

 Managing Patients with Special Needs in the Ambulatory Setting

September 15, 2015
7:30 pm EDT/6:30 pm CDT
Presenter: Joseph Giovannitti, DMD
Chair, Department of Dental Anesthesiology
University of Pittsburgh School fo Dental Medicine
Anesthesia Director, Center for Patients with Special Needs
Pittsburgh, PA 

SAMBA Members: To view a recording of the webinar, please follow this link: http://www.sambahq.org/p/cm/ld/fid=64 

Perioperative Management of Cardiac Implantable Electronic Devices (CIEDs): Interpretation, Pitfalls and Perioperative Strategies

March 18th, 2015
7:30 pm EDT/6:30 pm CDT
Presenter: Rebecca Gerlach, MD
Assistant Professor of Anesthesia and Critical Care
Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care
University of Chicago

Learning Objectives: Upon completion of this learning activity, participants should be able to:
-  Anticipate common CIED problems in ambulatory surgery and procedures
-  Interpret CIED modes and predict intraoperative response
-  Devise a perioperative management plan, including preoperative assessment, intraoperative management and postoperative care
-  Perform emergency defibrillation or cardioversion with a CIED in place

 SAMBA Members: To view the slides, please follow this link: http://www.sambahq.org/p/cm/ld/fid=64 

SEDASYS-An Introduction

February 17, 2015
7:30 pm EST/4:30pm PST
Presenter: Walter Maurer, MD
Section Chief, Non-Operating Room Anesthesia (NORA)
Anesthesiology Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH 

Description: This talk will cover the early implementation and potential impacts of SEDASYS.

Slides not available. 

TTE For Ambulatory Patients, You Can Do It!

January 13, 2015
7:30 pm EST/4:30 pm PST
Presenter: Joshua Zimmerman, MD
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
University of Utah 

Description: This lecture will be on focused cardiac ultrasound. 

Slides not available. 

Past Webinars

SAMBA Members: access a listing of past SAMBA webinars from 2011-2014 by CLICKING HERE. 

Not yet a member of SAMBA? Join today!